The best thing that you can do to guarantee you have the best semester ever is to prepare. Preparation is the key to success in anything, but especially when it comes to college life! (Tweet that!)

The best thing that you can do to guarantee you have the best semester ever is to prepare. Preparation is the key to success in anything, but especially when it comes to college life!

Set some goals.

Don’t just constrain yourself to academic goals, but go further! What ways would you like to grow personally? What kind of person do you want to be at the end of this semester? What kinds of health-related or relationship goals do you want to accomplish? Feel free to dream big!

An important part of goal-setting is to make them attainable and action based. For example, a goal to “run on the treadmill thirty minutes three days a week” is a lot better than “lose weight” or “work out more”. Being specific also makes your progress easier to track…which means you feel way more productive and successful!

Organize your assignments.

wunderlistThis probably makes me a nerd, but I always anxiously await the day when my professors send us the syllabus at the beginning of the semester. It’s a pet peeve of mine when professors decide to hand out the syllabus in class rather than upload it online beforehand. This allows me to get a head start on planning out all my assignments and makes life so much easier.

I use the app Wunderlist to make a massive to-do list for the entire semester. The awesome thing about Wunderlist is that I have it on both my Macbook and my iPhone so I can access my to-do list anywhere I may find myself. It does take some time, but at the beginning of every semester, I manually enter all of my assignments for every class and set the due dates. It’s kind of daunting looking at this long list of assignments, but it gives me assurance that I won’t forget a single assignment.

related: How to Email and Impress Your Professors

Order your textbooks.

Nothing is worse than having to wait three weeks after the semester starts to get your textbooks. Some websites that I suggest are Chegg, Half.com and Amazon. The cheapest way that I have found is to find people that have taken the class previously and see if they would be willing to sell or even rent their books to you. Most of the time, they will be totally willing to get the books out of their hands and get some cash too!

Another option is to find a friend in the same class and see if they would want to split the cost of the books and share with you. This takes some teamwork and planning, but ultimately, it can be very cost-saving!

Start on a positive note.

Even if you may be nervous about the upcoming semester, start thinking positively now. If you go into the semester thinking that it’s going to be great, it’s more likely that it will be! Be proactive about the things that you are worried about and put a plan in place to tackle those areas.

Want to learn how to thrive in college- Grab the FREE e-book!

32 thoughts on “How to Prepare for the Best College Semester Ever

  1. You’re so right about ordering textbooks in advance! It is beyond stressful trying to do those first assignments if you’re waiting for a book. Some people want to wait and make sure they don’t drop any classes before ordering, but you can always return the textbook and it’s better to have them just in case!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a great post! Is it weird that preparing for the semester is one of my favorite parts of college? It’s just something about a fresh start… new supplies, new books, new professors, new schedule. I love it!

    Kayla | kaylablogs.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderful tips! I think that these ideas (perhaps with the exception of ordering books) really apply to the beginning of any new effort! Thanks for linking with #TwinklyTuesday.

    Like

  4. Hey girl!

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve tried so many things when it comes to organizing my assignments but I haven’t tried Wunderlist yet, and I’m excited because I have all apple products too! I also wanted to comment so you could check out my blog if you’re interested! I just started it for girls with anxiety and depression.

    Blessings!

    Jennifer

    Like

  5. Thank you so much🎀i’m glad to find your blog😊i’ll definietlty recommend your great blog to my friends at college.the post was so helpful for me.Have a awesome day! Greetings from Cyprus!💐

    Like

Leave a Comment

