Are you struggling with finding enough time in the day for school, work, friends, and studying? I totally get that! There are various techniques that students can use in order to maximize study time. However, many students are not aware of these awesome techniques! Here are a few of my favorite ways to maximize my study time!

Making the most of your study time in college can be difficult, but don't worry! We've got you covered with these tips on how to study effectively in college.

Wake up a little earlier

One thing that has always helped me have more study time is that I am able to wake up a little early every morning to read through my class notes. By doing this, I add extra minutes to my day that otherwise would have been spent sleeping. For you night owls, this might be a little more difficult of an adjustment, but I can promise you that it is worth it! In the morning, the brain is more awake than it is at night. This means that you will be able to focus and learn much more easily. If you struggle with waking up in the morning, try putting your alarm on the other side of the room so that you have to get up to turn off the alarm. Then, wash your face with cold water. This will really help you get going in the mornings. Once you are awake, pull out your class notes. Depending on which of your classes is more difficult, you can choose between reading over either notes from yesterday’s classes or notes from that morning’s classes. Once you choose one, be sure to stick with that system so you don’t leave any classes out!

Create audio notes

The next thing you can do in order to create more study time is to turn your notes into audio notes. This is one of my favorite things to do because it helps me continue studying even when my eyes are tired! In order to make my audio notes, I record myself reciting all of the lecture notes then send them to my phone later. You can also choose to record your professor during lecture; however, this can make your audio notes pretty long. If you do not know how to create audio notes, ask Google (it is different for every computer).

Related: 5 Daily Habits That Will Boost Your GPA

Send notes to your phone

The next thing you can do to increase study time is to send your lecture notes to your phone. When I have a test coming up, I will email myself my lecture notes and look over them whenever I have free time. This is especially helpful between classes or whenever yo have a little bit of extra time. As I mentioned above, another way to always have your notes handy is by sending your audio notes to your phone. This way you can listen to them on-the-go.

gpa freebie in post

Say “No” if you know you need to study

Another thing that will help you to have more study time is to say no to at least one thing a week. Now, I’m not telling you to not go out and have any fun! I just want you to make sure that you aren’t saying yes to everything that you are asked to do. I think many college students have a hard time saying no to things, even when they realize that they are too busy. So, if you find that you are part of too many clubs, intramural teams, or just go out too often with friends, try to cut back a little and use that time for studying. Your grades will thank you and you will feel a lot less stressed! I think you will find that instead of giving an average amount of effort to all of the things you are involved in, cutting back will help you to be more effective at the fewer things you are involved in!

Figure out when you can multitask

Remember how I said you should create audio notes and send them to your phone? Well, now you need to determine when you can best use those audio notes! Do you work out regularly? If so, listen to your notes as you run! I have one friend who does this religiously and says it really helps her! One area where I have found that I can multitask and listen to my notes is while getting ready in the mornings. If your roommate doesn’t mind (especially if she has the same classes as you like my roommate does!), you can listen to them and repeat them out loud as you get ready. If your roommate does mind, just put in headphones! When you do listen to your notes, make sure that you are paying attention to what you are listening to. Otherwise, it might just go in one ear and out the other, and we don’t want that!

Related: How to Become a Multitasking Genius in College

I hope you have enjoyed learning about these five ways that you can maximize your study time! In order to make this post even more helpful for you, I have created this awesome bonus list of studying tools that I use. You can grab this awesome freebie here!


unnamedHello lovely! My name is Samantha, and you can find me at www.aslifegrows.com. I write about college life, college relationships, a college girls favorite things, and my college love story. If you would like to read more awesome studying tips like this, come to AsLifeGrows for a visit! I would love to have you, and don’t forget to click here to grab your bonus list of studying tools! 

18 thoughts on “How to Maximize Your Study Time in College

  1. This is a great list! Another thing that I find really useful is to schedule a block of time (usually once a week) where I just finish as many assignments as possible. It helps me to even get ahead in my work! Having a large amount of time helps me to really get into my studying without sacrificing any of my understanding by rushing through the subject.

    Thanks for your study tips as well! I will definitely be trying it out!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Samantha,

    Thanks for posting this! I’ve been out of school for a little over a year, but I’ve just started taking online classes again to prep for grad school so your tips are definitely great to follow 😉 I never thought about creating audio notes… only recording lectures in class, but it’s an interesting concept and I might try it out!

    I was wondering if you’d mind checking out my latest post; it’s related to college and relevant for college students and recent grads who are looking for internships! It might be interesting for you and some of your readers too and wanted to share: https://magneticallyaesthetic.wordpress.com/2016/01/21/persistence-is-insert-key-emoji/

    Sincerely,
    Belinda
    https://magneticallyaesthetic.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. Thanks for these tips, Samantha! I really like your idea about audio notes. I’d done this once before for a final exam in high school but had forgotten about the idea. It works so well! I also love the idea of waking up earlier; as of this week, I’ve been doing this a lot more consistently. I’m amazed at the difference it actually makes!

    Like

  4. These are such great ideas. I have been stressing about finding enough time for everything before I start uni next year, and I absolutely love the audio notes idea (it’ll be perfect for my long-ish commute). 🙂

    Like

Leave a Comment